Non-executive Chairman of MTR Corporation

Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, 65, is the Non-executive Chairman of MTR Corporation, a position he has held since January 1, 2016.  He joined the Board as an Independent Non-executive Director in July 2013 and was re-designated as a Non-executive Director on 30 November 2015. He is also the Council Chairman of The Education University of Hong Kong, a member of the International Advisory Council of China Investment Corporation and the Global Advisory Council of the Bank of America.

Professor Ma has extensive experience in the banking and financial sectors.  Amongst the positions he currently holds are: independent non-executive director of FWD Group; director of Husky Energy Inc.; non-executive director of COFCO Corporation.

Previous posts include an independent non-executive director of Agricultural Bank of China Limited; Aluminum Corporation of China Limited; Hutchison Port Holdings Management Pte. Limited; non-executive director of China Mobile Communications Corporation.  He was previously the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury of the HKSAR Government and a Non-executive Director of the Company from 2002 to 2007.

Professor Ma held the position of the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development of the HKSAR Government from 2007 to July 2008.

Professor Ma holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) Degree majoring in economics and history from the University of Hong Kong.  He was conferred the Honorary Doctor of Social Sciences by Lingnan University in October 2014 and the Honorary Doctor of Social Science by City University of Hong Kong in October 2016.  Professor Ma was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star medal in 2009 and was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 2010.  He is also a director of a member of the Company’s group.